Flash Fiction Friday

Happy Friday Campers! I hope you all had a lovely week. It is sunny and almost 70 degrees up here in the pacific northwest (well it will be by this afternoon anyway). The spring fair is going on this weekend. Time to get out into the yard, fix the panels on my greenhouse and get to planting! But before we do that, here is our story for today. Have a great weekend!


 

“Stacey Smith was sentenced to life in prison without the possibility of parole. Sources say that she showed no remorse and laughed at the jury.”

I dropped the cup I was washing. I ran out into the living room but the news anchor moved on to another story. I plopped down on the couch. I was dumbfounded. She’d done it. She’d snapped and done it.

I got up and grabbed my phone. Who was I going to call? If I had to find out this way and I was her best friend then no one else knew about it either. I dropped the phone and went to the computer. I needed to know what happened.

Within minutes all the gory details were displayed on the screen. She’d been driving and someone cut her off. She sped up and rammed into the back of the car, slamming them into a guard rail. The guy driving the other car got out yelling, my crazy friend got out with a gun and a baseball bat. She shot him in the knee then beat him to death with the bat, yelling “Dumb ass!” the entire time. I turned away from the computer. I had to talk to her. She always said she was going to shoot the next stupid person she came across, but I thought it was a joke.

The next weekend I went to the prison to see her. The guards looked at me like I was out of my mind when I told them who I wanted to see. I waited until my name was called. Walking into the visiting room was the hardest thing I’d ever had to do. They led her through a door and over to the table where I was sitting. We were separated by a sheet of plexiglass.

“Lisa!” she yelled.

“Stacey.” Words lodged in my throat. How do you ask your best friend why she killed someone?

“How did you find out?” she asked.

“I heard it on the news.” I said.

“I’m sorry you had to find out that way. I couldn’t call anyone once things got rolling.” she looked like we were just two old friends talking about the latest movie.

“Why? Why did you do it?”

She sighed, “I couldn’t take the dumb asses anymore. He was the straw that broke my back. That whole day I’d dealt with so much stupidity that I snapped.” she smiled. “And it felt good.”

I swallowed the lump in my throat. She had gone crazy. Or maybe she always was. “They say you laughed at the jury?”

She giggled, “I wasn’t laughing at anyone in particular. I was laughing because I don’t have to deal with the stupidity of the world anymore.”

“Time’s up”, the guard said from the doorway.

“Take care of yourself Lisa. And come visit again.” She got up and the guard put the handcuffs on her.

“You take care of yourself too.” I said.

She smiled as she was led away. I was happy she’d found peace and equally glad she was off the streets. I love her but she was always a little off.

 

Leave a Reply

