Flash Fiction Friday

 

Today is my first installment of Flash Fiction Friday. Every Friday I will give you a new piece of fiction. Enjoy!


 

I wished I had a machine gun mounted to my car. I live twenty minutes from my office but with traffic it takes me over an hour to drive home.  I flipped through the radio stations to find some music to pass the time. I was paying attention to an idiot that was on his way to causing a crash when I thought I heard my name come through the radio. I scrolled though the stations slowly until I heard it again.

“Sarah, are you there?” My hand froze on the dial. It sounded like my mother. My parents died in a car crash ten years ago. I’d found some odd things in the basement of the house after their death. No one I asked had any ideas about what my parents were involved with at the time of their death.

I took a deep breath, “Mom?” There was no answer.

This was silly. There is no way that my mother was talking to me through the radio. I turned my attention back to the road.

“Sarah we miss you.”

I swerved and almost hit the car next to me. My heart was pounding. My mother was talking to me through the radio. How is this possible?

“Mom is that you?” I wanted to smack myself in the head. I could hear that comedian saying ‘Here’s your sign’. I looked up to check on the traffic and noticed I was halfway home. I needed to stop asking stupid questions.

“Yes it’s me sweetheart.” She paused like she was talking to someone in the background. “I’m sorry we left so sudden. We didn’t know it was going to happen that soon.”

“Mom what do you mean? You guys knew you were going to die?” Someone honked at me. I had to keep my eyes on the road.

“We knew someone was after us.” She said.

“What was all that stuff in the basement?” I passed the sign that said my exit was two miles away. At the rate traffic was going we’d be there in ten minutes.

“Your father and I were working on a top-secret project. The government learned we had stumbled across a serum that allowed a person’s mind to be controlled indefinitely. Up until then any mind control serum would wear off within twenty-four hours. They came to us and offered to fund our research if we could make a large batch of the serum. You can imagine the types of people who would pay for our whereabouts.”

“Someone leaked your location.” I knew where this was headed now.

“We were transporting the batch when we were hit. Anyone wanting the serum couldn’t come to the house because of the agents in the house next door. So they got us when we were in the car. I’m so sorry.”

“Those were government agents living in that house?” I’d known there was something weird going on. They never behaved like a couple.

“They were there to protect all of us. At least they succeeded with you.” She sounded farther away. “I have to go Sarah. We love you.”

“I love you mom.” Static answered me. I turned off the radio.

I drove the rest of the way home. I was happy that I got to talk to my mother one last time. I had the answers I’d been looking for. The few details the police gave me at the time was that another car had rear ended them. The driver of the other car forgot to put his seat belt on and went through his own windshield. The crash pushed their car into the path of an oncoming train. The train didn’t have enough time to sound the horn much less slow down. At the time I felt bad for the other driver. Now I have the satisfaction of knowing my parents’ killer was also dead, and the serum never fell into the hands of the wrong people.

I pulled into my driveway and turned off the car. I felt a peace I hadn’t felt in ten years.

Leave a Reply

